If Standardized Testing was Gone…

If standardized testing was gone, I would be able to freely learn without boundaries.

I wouldn’t have to sit and listen to lectures based on a curriculum that is cut out like a perfect cookie.

If standardized testing was gone, I could explore the traditions of my own culture,

and not just keep learning about the same European idiots in different bodies killing over hate and selfishness.

If standardized testing was gone, I could dive deeper into Pascal’s Triangle and all of the Number Theory’s glory,

rather than learning about pointless equations and incomprehensible squiggles.

If standardized testing was gone, I could share my passions, my hopes, my dreams;

instead of sitting in a Socratic Seminar, spitting out whatever superficially intelligent thing comes to my mind.

If standardized testing was gone, the white board could be more than just a tool.

It would become a canvas waiting for the real artists to come and paint it with knowledge.

If standardized testing was gone, I would have a voice.

I wouldn’t just be the girl wishing that things were different, hoping someone with power will make change happen.

If standardized testing was gone, I wouldn’t just be person number 21695.

I would be ASHLEY, a person who wants to stand up for her beliefs and is willing to do it even if she looks ridiculous.

If standardized testing was gone, I could use my time to change the system.

And not waste precious hours of my life acting as a guinea pig for another test that will ultimately fail

because the system is flawed.

More tests, new tests are not the answer.

We are all fish, trying to succeed in climbing a tree.

It’s not made for us, and it’s not going to work.

One response to “If Standardized Testing was Gone…

  1. Pingback: If Standardized Testing was Gone… | Pure Randomness :)·

Leave a Reply

