Why I Love Quotes

    Words have no definitions. “Love is just a word until someone comes along and gives it a meaning.” Every word that has ever been said is just a sound, a noise, a wavelength running through the air. For me, quotes give words meaning.

         Every time I read a quote, the words come alive. They dance on the page. Sometimes they do a dance of love and passion, sometimes one of anger, sometimes one of sadness. Either way, they are there forever imprinted, forever etched into the corners of my brain. In a world of sounds and calamities, quotes are the songs of diction. They are the short poems that speak unfathomable wisdom, that comfort, that help me get through the day.

     Sometimes, when I’m unhappy and need comfort, I remember my quotes. “Everyone wants to be happy, no one wants pain, but you can’t have a rainbow without any rain.” I cry a little more, because I understand all of the truth behind them and I remember all of the other situations that the quote applies to. At the same time, I see the hope in quotes and they pick me up a little, returning the spring to my step.

    “Ah yes, the past can hurt. But the way I see it, you can either run from it, or learn from it.” “Those who do not learn from history, are doomed to repeat it.” “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift, that is why it is called the present.” Sometimes quotes say very similar things, but in different ways. All I have to do is listen. Whether it takes a famous politician, a monkey, or a turtle, to communicate that well, “Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there someday.” Quotes are a way of forcing myself to listen to other ideas, to other things, to step out outside of the little box I am stuck in.

     “We all have our time machines. Some take us back, they’re called memories. Some take us forward, they’re called dreams.” Quotes bring life to the world. When I repeat something that someone who has died, or who is fictional has said, I feel as if the person comes alive for a little bit. I envision what it would be like to have been there to watch the person say something so iconic. I wish I could have been there to sit through one of John Wooden’s talks and hear him say, “You can’t live a perfect day without doing something for someone who will never be able to repay you.” I see the person eye to eye and I understand them, if only for a moment, and their legacy lives on.

     All of these words burn themselves into my mind, stamp themselves to my soul, embed in my veins, until each word becomes a part of me. Words may have no definition, but they have meaning.

Leave a Reply

